Pen y Ghent race preview, and another great book review

PenyGhent-200x200This coming weekend I will be at the Pen Y Ghent  fell race, in company with several runners from my club. For some it will be their first ‘proper’ fell race and it will be intriguing to see how they fare. The race is an FRA category AS race, 5.9 miles long with 1850 feet of ascent. Last year’s times ranged from to 47-25 to 2-14-38. We have accommodation booked for the weekend, and have been through accumulating the necessary kit requirements (where some didn’t have it all), and all are now properly worried about the event – which I am sure will go fine, as they are all experienced distance and trail runners. I shan’t be running unfortunately, but will be there in full support mode, probably from a vantage point on the side of Whitber Hill. I will also have a few copies of the book with me at the race, so if you are there and want to buy a (signed) copy just look out for me. I will be in my white book advert top (see photo in right margin of this site), and hopefully findable in the finish/gala area afterwards.

AWreviewFollowing on from the last post I was really pleased to finally see a review in Athletics Weekly (click image to enlarge) last week. I particularly liked the comment about the book being “beautifully produced with great photographs and images” – which ought to also please Sandstone Press. But mostly it was the “must-buy” verdict that made it worth the wait, and hopefully will have got the book to the notice of a new audience. So, now I am hopeful that a Compass Sport review will follow shortly, and also that Fellrunner will finally give it some space.

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

