Appearing at the Buxton Adventure Festival

stevebbuxtonI am really pleased to be taking the stage at this year’s Buxton Adventure Festival, on Sunday 12 October. I will be interviewing Steve Birkinshaw on stage about his recent successful Wainwrights record – all the 214 Wainwrights in the Lake District in a continuous round of 6 days. We also should have a clip from the new film of the event – ‘The Set of Wainwrights’ by Alistair Lee. Having interviewed Steve recently for my next book, I know he has some fascinating stories to tell of the highs and lows of that exceptional achievement. It takes out one of Joss Naylor’s most revered endurance records, from back in 1986. I hope to see some of you there, and will be available to sign copies of ‘It’s a hill, get over it’, which will be available at the festival. Tickets are available here.

wanderlustEarlier on that Sunday I will also be on a Wanderlust panel discussing How to become a Travel Writer. I am uncertain I have any credentials at all for this one! I guess I have a few things to say about the process of getting published, having been through it recently, and having learnt a fair bit in a very short time in the process. Was it luck, good publisher research, an amazing manuscript, or what?! Come along and find out. The panel is myself, Phoebe Smith (Wanderlust travel editor, and author of Extreme Sleeps) and Hannah Reynolds (fitness editor for Cycling Weekly, and author of France En Velo)

paperbackand hardbackThe paperback version of ‘It’s a hill’ is now out and will be available to purchase at Buxton. Although I love having the paperback, I personally still prefer the look (and feel) of the hardback version. Hardback copies are still available to buy. If you are at the Buxton Adventure Festival catch me, as I will have some hardbacks with me to sell. Amazon still have hardback copies too. Paperback copies should be in all good bookshops now. Bookends in Keswick and Reads in Grasmere have some signed copies. If you are going to fell races, particularly in Yorkshire, look out for the Third Step Books stall at many events.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

