‘The Round’ – book launches

image2‘The Round: in Bob Graham’s footsteps’ was launched at two events, in Keswick and North London. The first took place on Saturday 19th Sept at the iconic Moot Hall in Keswick’s main street. This was the only real choice as it is the venue that is the normal start and finish point for the Bob Graham Round. I hired the community room at the Moot Hall which holds 40, and all the tickets were sold. There was a real buzz as assorted family, friends, clubmates, and some noted fell legends, gathered for the 6pm start of the event. After some drinks and networking my friend Mike Cambray, whom I have shared many an adventure on the fells with, took the floor and formally introduced me to the audience. He started with an observation that he had known me for 42 years. How appropriate was that for a book about an event that covers 42 peaks and was first completed by Bob Graham at the age of 42?

audience by MoiraI then showed a few slides, some from the book and some of my own (and friends’ ones) from a recent Round I had supported. I did forget to thank a couple of people – so here’s thanks to Lucy (Bookends) and Alex (Moot Hall Information Centre) for help with the event. I also forgot to ask if there were any questions – then got one in the network time from someone, and I couldn’t answer it!

With Billy Bland (left)What was most pleasing was that some of the main players that I had interviewed for the book rocked up to the event. It was great to chat to Nicky Spinks right at the beginning (who couldn’t stay) and to see Steve Birkinshaw and Billy Bland stroll in and settle down, almost unnoticed – except by me who was by now excitedly whispering to friends ‘look who’s here’! Kenny and Pauline Stuart had provided a fulsome cover quote for the book (having read the manuscript) and also kindly joined us for the launch.

Book Launch-3563Bookends shop in Keswick had kindly agreed to provide books for the event, and Lucy did a fabulous job selling them to attendees before and after the formal bit. In the networking time in the latter part of the event is was great to see folk having the opportunity to chat with each other and gradually see Steve, Billy, Kenny and Pauline gather small crowds around themselves. I signed books for those that wanted it, and a good number got theirs counter-signed by one or more fell legend(s), which was great to see.

Book Launch-3579It was great to have Mike there, plus my wife Moira and son Josh. We repaired with some of our friends to the Dog and Gun for a celebratory drink and a chat, then for fantastic fish supper at the famous Old Keswickian chip shop, seated in style upstairs. The event venue, pub and food (all iconic Cumbria locations) were all within yards of each other in the centre of Keswick – an evening to savour.

Early onOn the Wednesday after the Keswick launch I held a second ‘launch celebration’ at Middlesex University, in Hendon, North London (my employer). Thirty friends, workmates and athletic clubmates attended an informal event in the Grove Atrium. For this audience I told some stories about the Round, its innovators and included more pictures and some video clips from the Round I had supported in July. This time I remembered to ask if there were any questions, which produced some interested discussion. Again a good number of books were sold and signed, and a post-event pint and pizza were taken at the Greyhound pub, in which I used to spend far too much time earlier in my life. There will be a short video available of this event shortly.

‘The Round: in Bob Graham’s footsteps’ can be purchased directly from me (signed) and from bookshops, such as Waterstones, Bookends, Fred Holdsworth’s and Sam Read’s (the latter three all being in Cumbria) and online.

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

