In profile: Jack Maitland

Jack feels that the highlight of his fell career was probably winning the British Championship. In mountain racing it would be winning Mount Cameroon and the Everest marathon (both in 1989). ‘You remember the wins, don’t you. I won Burnsall but never won the Ben, Snowdon or the Three Peaks. I had a lot of seconds! I came against some very classy athletes in that era. I think I got the most I could out of myself, for instance in that Snowdon race.’

Jack Maitland reflected on his career in the third article to appear in the latest Fellrunner under my byline. It resulted from an interview I conducted with him as part of my research for my new book, Running Hard: the story of a rivalry. After the long and fascinating interview I realised there was more info on Jack than I needed for backgrounding him for the book, so I decided to write a profile of him as well (with his approval, and with some of his photos).

inprofilejack

jack-with-views-of-everest-behind_smallerThe full article may be viewed here: [PDF of article]. Postscript: it was pointed out to me after the magazine was published that the photo on the second page [see photo left] which was captioned ‘1989 Jack with views of Everest behind‘ is mis-captioned, as it actually shows Ama Dablam! Although I should have realised, I missed it, and can only say that I carried forward the caption that I was given for it.

The next issue of The Fellrunner will include a follow-up article: In Profile: Hugh Symonds.

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

