New Year, new book ventures

It’s a new year and fresh opportunities to share my love of fell running. I am involved in some talks throughout the year to which you are warmly invited. They include gigs with two of my absolute sports heroes – Joss Naylor and Billy Bland. I also have the germ of an idea for a fourth book, which I have started thinking seriously about starting work on.

With Billy BlandThe first of the gigs is ‘An evening with Billy Bland’, which is on Friday 9th February, at the Skiddaw Hotel in Keswick. Billy Bland is one of the most prominent fell runners in the history of the sport and is now into the 36th year as the holder of the Bob Graham Round record. He will join me for an evening to answer your questions. It will be unscripted, and a chance to interact with the Borrowdale fell legend. It will be introduced, and compered, by myself (and hosted by Due North Events). Billy has specifically asked for maximum audience participation. He is known for training and racing hard, and for having an opinion or two! So, think what you would like to ask him, and bring your questions along and be part of what should be a fascinating evening. You need to book in advance, and can obtain tickets here.

wilfsThe second is part of the marvellous Wilfs Café Slide and Supper series. I will be talking on ‘The Round: in Bob Graham’s footsteps’, on Thursday 8th March, in Staveley. This illustrated talk will detail the history of the Bob Graham Round & explore the what, why and how of this classic fell endurance challenge. It will cover its development from a more or less idle challenge to its present status as a rite of passage for endurance runners. Interspersed with this detail of the round are snapshots of many of the event’s most significant individuals: innovators, record setters, recorders and supporters. Finally, some thoughts on why Billy Bland’s record time for the BGR has lasted since 1982, whether someone will soon beat it, and also concerns about the impact it’s challengers are having on the environment. Details, and for booking a place.

josswithbookThirdly, I am excited to be sharing a stage at the Buxton Adventure Festival with Joss Naylor. For Joss it is ‘Life and times of a fell running legend’, and my contribution will be ‘an exploration of the what, why and how of the classic fell endurance challenge that is the Bob Graham Round’. It is on Tues 19 June, at the Pavilion Arts Centre, Buxton.

Further details, and link for tickets. Don’t hesitate to book, as I understand that demand for all three gigs is high and all may well sell out. Bonus: my three fell running books will be available at each event, and there may even be some signing!

Finally, I have started on the background work for a potential new book. I am not able to say exactly what it is about as yet, and am at the moment working on securing the agreement and cooperation of one vital collaborator. That is all I can say just now. More will be revealed later, but suffice it to say I am very excited about the possibility of it coming to fruition.

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a comment